Book Promo Banner
When to use serger/overlocker?

When to use serger/overlocker?

Home Page Forums Ask A Question When to use serger/overlocker?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    the_professors_assistant
    Keymaster

Hello,
    I am quite new at sewing…please help! firstly, is an overlocker and serger the same thing? I am a bit confused because some people say you should serge the whole fabric before starting and others say that after cutting the pattern (ie. before the seam).
    I don’t have an overlocker/serger to start with….I understand that I could sew a zig zag stitch with my sewing machine instead but, when do I do this? Do I zig zag all the fabric before cutting it? Do I really need a serger as I am serious about sewing?
    At the moment I am making McCalls pattern M5569 – girls’ dress using linen…not sure how fray this is..
    Thank you in advance for any advise or link to videos.

the_professors_assistant
    Keymaster