Book Promo Banner
Simplicity Pattern Cynthia Rowley 1873 – Fabrics

Simplicity Pattern Cynthia Rowley 1873 – Fabrics

Home Page Forums Ask A Question Simplicity Pattern Cynthia Rowley 1873 – Fabrics

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    the_professors_assistant
    Keymaster

Hi,

I am making a dress using the simplicity pattern, Cynthia Rowley – 1873. I am going to use the bodice of A and the Skirt of C. I am fairly new to sewing and I would love it if you could help me with my fabric selection.

These are the fabrics the pattern recommends; Lightweight denim, Damask, Pique, Poplin, Sateen, Brocade, Satin, Shantung, Taffeta, Linen Blends, Batiks, Crepe and Silk linen. What fabrics, listed or not, would you recommend as I will be wearing the dress in summer?

The pattern says to sew a lining for the bodice of the dress. As I will be wearing it in summer I would like to use a fabric that is breathable. What fabrics would you recommend for the lining?

Also the pattern says to use an invisible zipper, but I have never sewn a zipper before and I don’t have an invisible zipper foot. I know it won’t look as good but would a centered zipper be easier to sew using this pattern?

the_professors_assistant
    Keymaster