Book Promo Banner
SEWING TANK TOPS/TSHIRTS

SEWING TANK TOPS/TSHIRTS

Home Page Forums Ask A Question SEWING TANK TOPS/TSHIRTS

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    the_professors_assistant
    Keymaster

Hi I am new to both sewing and Professor Pincushion. I watched the video on how to draft a pattern from existing clothes in which there was a vest top which had contrast binding around the arms and neck. I went premium so I could watch the basic tank top assembly. However, I can find nothing which shows how to add the contrast binding and was wondering if there is such a video on how to do this. The basic tank top assembly does show how to attach a neckline and armline but not contrast binding. Any help would be greatly appreciated and thank you for the excellent videos which makes it all look so easy!

the_professors_assistant
    Keymaster

hi there! The process is exactly the same. If you want a contrasting binding, you just have to purchase a contrasting, similar fabric but you would still do everything else the same.

the_professors_assistant
    Keymaster

Thank you for coming back to me! As I said I am new to sewing so I may not be explaining myself properly! On the video where you use your striped knitted vest, the neck and armholes have a contrast binding that looks as though it has been placed on the edges and double topstitched on to the vest, rather than added to create a flat neck or armline. I have T shirts that have similar finishes and I am trying to recreate that. I don’t know if I am using the right terms but they look as though bias binding (cut crosswise not on the bias) made from the same fabric, but a different colour, has been stitched onto the arm and necklines. I hope you understand all that! Thank you.

the_professors_assistant
    Keymaster