Book Promo Banner
selecting a sewing machine

selecting a sewing machine

Home Page Forums Ask A Question selecting a sewing machine

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    the_professors_assistant
    Keymaster

I am brand new to sewing, etc. I want to make a box quilt. I need to purchase a sewing machine. I have been told that there are A) “mechanical” sewing machines that offer 13-37 stitches; B) “electronic” sewing machines that offer 30-160 stitches (some machines are programmable); and C) “Embroidery / Sewing” machines which offer 100 – 460 stitches (some machines are programmable). Can I get away with a ‘mechanical” machine for the project that I want to do? if yes, I was told that Kenmore makes decent “mechanical” machines, for a good price. Any thoughts?
    Also, after I am successful with my box quilt – I plan on making a simple hunting coat (called a “rifleman’s frock”) out of thick wool – from a pattern that I have. It doesn’t have to be “perfect”, because it’s just to keep me warm outside in the woods. Will a “mechanical” machine go through thick wool?

the_professors_assistant
    Keymaster

Update from Novice Seamstress: OK. I now know that the number of stitches is just how many different stitch types it can perform, NOT the number of stitches per a given length. So, I won’t need more than 5 or so. It appears that what really matters is if the machine can go through “heavier” fabric without problems, because the quilt will be 3 layers (the pattern layer, the backing, and the padding in the middle. I can’t spend too much money (under $200-250). Any thoughts or suggestions?

the_professors_assistant
    Keymaster