Book Promo Banner
Questions on constructing a Double layer Onesie pajama

Questions on constructing a Double layer Onesie pajama

Home Page Forums Ask A Question Questions on constructing a Double layer Onesie pajama

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    varocketry
    Participant

I am a novice sew’er who like to make a birthday present for my wife. I’d like to make a warm [double layer] onesie pajama using two layers of material – polar fleece outside and sherpa fleece inside.

I have NOT seen a tutorial that addresses this full suit onesie WITH LINING type effort before. I watched first your invisible Zipper with Lining video then others.

Thinking through your video generated questions for my project. How ….. would you suggest I form the full onesie with the two layers of material?

Thinking through your video, perhaps would I essentially make two onesie’s – one of each material and then fit them inside each other — with the final assembly being one of outside seems or perhaps the long zipper opening — and the adding hood and arm/leg contrasts? Or would you approach the two layer onesie another way?

Or perhaps anchoring at the shoulder seams, inside the legs, and one outside seam to allow the material to be reversed to sew the zipper. Hmmm….

Seems like a great video tutorial topic for you !! Thanks for any suggestions you can offer me.

Is the Invisible Zipper technique in the video essentially the same when using Sherpa lining material?
    And do you think the outer layer Pattern Dimensions will need to be enlarged to accommodate the thick sherpa lining material?

Thanks so much.

varocketry
    Participant

A tennis partner who is a longtime quilter suggests that working with Polar Fleece is very tricky as it stretches and distorts. She suggests I use a fuseable interface to stick both pieces together, prevent stretching, and sew them as one piece. It’s all that a novice sew’er can handle using that material.

professorpincushion