Book Promo Banner
Pleat Underlay – sewing Simplicity patter 9823

Pleat Underlay – sewing Simplicity patter 9823

Home Page Forums Ask A Question Pleat Underlay – sewing Simplicity patter 9823

Tagged: , ,

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    the_professors_assistant
    Keymaster

Hi
    I’m a beginner sewer working on a skirt using Simplicity pattern number 9823 – see here for a picture http://moonwishesstore.ecrater.com.au/p/4252351/simplicity-sewing-pattern-9823-misses-size-8-14
    The section on how to sew the pleat underlay aren’t very clear. Can anyone help me with some advice on how to sew a pleat underlay?
    In particular I’m not sure what to do when the instructions say ‘pin upper edges of pleat underlay and skirt together’.
    Nor am I sure what to do with the section of the pleat underlay that extends to the top of the skirt.
    Any advice you can give me would be much appreciated, especially if it came in the form of a video!
    The pleat underlay is the reason why I chose to make this skirt – if I can work it out I can see myself making a bunch of them, for weekends and for work.
    Thanks so much!
    Monika

the_professors_assistant
    Keymaster

Hi there, I don’t have this pattern but it might help if you can include a picture of the written/picture direction. I’ll try to help if I can.

the_professors_assistant
    Keymaster

Hi, and thanks for getting back to me so quickly.
    I have actually gone ahead and made the skirt according to the instructions, but it still seems odd to me that a piece of fabric would be loose/unsecured under the skirt (ie, the sides of the underlay piece which appear to be only secured around the please and at the top of the skirt.
    I’d really like to make this skirt again, so any advice you can provide would be great.

Thanks again 🙂
    Monika

the_professors_assistant
    Keymaster