Book Promo Banner
Pattern Marking

Pattern Marking

Home Page Forums Ask A Question Pattern Marking

• This topic has 3 replies, 1 voice, and was last updated 11 years, 1 month ago by the_professors_assistant.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    the_professors_assistant
    Keymaster

When marking the fabric based on the pattern, how do you recommend making marks that are in the middle of the pattern?  Cut the pattern, poke a hole in the pattern, lift and fold the pattern?  As you can tell I am a real beginner.

the_professors_assistant
    Keymaster

Hi there! There’s many ways to do this, so as you sew more, you’ll find a method that works best for you.  I, personally, like to do a method that’s least damaging to the pattern because I may want to use it again and again.  While the pattern is still pinned to my pieces, I poke a straight pin into my mark on my pattern and through the fabric pieces.  So now the straight pin is going straight down through the pattern and fabric pieces and the head of the pin is sticking straight up.  I work my way from out to in.  So once all my marks are made except for that one in the middle, I carefully unpin my pattern and lift it up around my straight pin, making sure the pin doesn’t come out from the fabric.  Where the straight pin is going into my fabric, that’s where I make a mark.  And if you have two fabric pieces just flip the piece over and you’ll see the pin coming out on the other side, and then make a mark on this piece at that same location.  If this is confusing, check out our tutorial on Marking Fabric and you can see me do a demo.  Hope that helps and let me know if you have any other questions.  We’re here to help beginners. 🙂

the_professors_assistant
    Keymaster