Book Promo Banner
Complete novice question about one of your videos

Complete novice question about one of your videos

Home Page Forums Ask A Question Complete novice question about one of your videos

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    the_professors_assistant
    Keymaster

I am completely new to sewing (only bought a sewing machine a couple of weeks ago).

As an initial project I thought I would try something challenging but not too complicated – a man’s Vest (waistcoat here in the UK).

Having created my own pattern from an unpicked well worn vest which fitted perfectly but needed replacement I came across your video –
    Simplicity Pattern 4762 – Mens Vest.

This proved very useful – but did raise a question.

At around the 54 minute point in the video, it says to stitch the lining and outside material together but to leave 4 sections unstitched.
    At the 56 minute point it shows the vest being turned right side out and through one of the open seams and then the seam is hand stitched – but there is no mention of the other 3 open seams.

Why were the other 3 seams left open if only one is used to turn the material right side out ??

Any help/clarification here would be appreciated.

the_professors_assistant
    Keymaster